Monday, May 5, 2014

US Forest Service Announces National Forest Fire Management Officer of the Year Selections for 2012 and 2013

Gary Brown, Chair of the National Forest Fire Management Officer Committee, recently announced the recipients of the 2012 and 2013 National Forest Fire Management Officer of the Year selections. 

Selected for 2012 was Bob Lippincott from the Nez Perce-Clearwater NF of central Idaho, R1.  Bob was recognized for his effort that year in leading the forest through an extremely difficult fire season that included multiple type I and II IMTs, supporting fire operations on other forests and regions and for leading the forest and cooperators through a difficult time following the loss of one of our fellow firefighters.

Selected for 2013 is Arlen Cravens from the Shasta-Trinity NF in northern California, R5.  Arlen retired this past winter and is being recognized for his life-time achievements as a Canadian and Redding smokejumper, and a career in fire that culminated as a Fire Staff Officer.  Arlen was always a student of fire and promoted sound risk and leadership principles.

Brown wishes to thank all the folks that participated by sending in nominations. This year the selection process was particularly difficult due to the high quality of the nominees.  "Each and every one of them deserved this recognition. It really was like selecting a single all-star from an all-star team made up of all-stars."  

No comments: