Friday, April 16, 2010

Wildland Fire Agencies Announce 2009 Leadership Awards

Five individuals from the wildland fire service were chosen to receive the seventh national Paul Gleason Lead by Example Award. The recipients were selected for demonstrating valued leadership traits during or in support of wildland fire operations.

The annual award was created to honor Paul Gleason, a wildland firefighter whose career spanned several decades before he succumbed to cancer in 2003. Gleason is best known for developing the LCES (Lookout, Communication, Escape Routes, Safety Zones) concept that became the foundation of wildland firefighter safety. Throughout his career, Gleason led and mentored firefighters, studied and taught wildland fire, and worked to improve firefighter safety. The awards highlight Gleason’s influence on and contribution to wildland fire management, while honoring those who demonstrate the spirit of leadership for which he was known.

The award is sponsored by the Wildland Fire Leadership Development Subcommittee under the National Wildfire Coordinating Group, an interagency, intergovernmental group that works to improve policy, standards, and safety in wildland and prescribed fire management. The Gleason Award is based on three categories: motivation and vision; mentoring and teamwork; and innovation or initiative. Individuals and groups from federal, state, local and tribal agencies are eligible for the award.

The 2009 award winners are:
  • Dennis Baldridge, USFS ~Motivation and Vision

  • Pete Glover, Michigan DNR ~ Mentoring and Teamwork

  • Steve Holdsambeck, USFS ~ Initiative and Innovation

  • Kathy Komatz, NPS ~ Initiative and Innovation

  • Stan Stewart, USFS ~ Motivation and Vision

Visit to find out more about these and winners.

*Picture of Pete Glover receiving his reward.

No comments: